Posted in Creativity

Nancy

This poem I wrote after the death of one of my very dearest friends in Cape Town, she was the most hospitable woman I knew and often invited women on their own around for Sunday Lunch and an afternoon of chat and craft work.  We also went out exploring the countryside together and she and her husband were a great support to me during my late husband’s illness.  I was devastated when she suddenly became ill and died just after her seventieth birthday and all the plans we had made for our retirement died with her. I was inspired to write this poem in her honour by a massive Gum tree that grew outside of my home whose one branch had broken in a storm and had had to be removed.  Month on month I saw how this great tree slowly started to heal itself where the branch was cut off and so my grief also slowly healed.

Author:

Artist, Writer and Explorer of the World

Leave a Reply

